Addendum to the first video

After the first video was published, a good friend of mine asked that I include the Latin names of what plants I used in the recipes, and I told them that I’d start doing that as of the next video. 🙂

Though most of the plants I use have many edible variants.

I also (unlike a great deal of videos you’ll see on the web…) only make videos on plants that I know personally and that I’ve used.

If it’s in my video, I’ve picked it, prepared it, eaten it, and lived to tell the tale.

You’ll never hear me say “Well, the literature says such and such MAY be edible…” I don’t do that.

Here is what is in that video, in order of most to least. (Canned potatoes obviously not included in the list!)

Ostrich Fern: Pteretis pensylvanica. These are the ones I use and are the most abundant here locally. Check your local variety, and check with a local expert before using them.

Wild Garlic: Allium canadense. You can of course use your local wild  species. (As long as it is properly identified!) If you have Field  Garlic (A.vineale), it would work just as well. Even one of the other  Alliums such as Nodding Wild Onion (A. cernuum), or Wild Onion (A.  Stellatum) if you don’t have any of the garlics handy, would work,  though the taste would be a bit different. I use Wild Garlic. It rocks.  And I have a 40′ patch of it at the end of my road next to an old  orchard, so that kind of availability helps as well. 😉

Dandelion: Taraxacum Officinale. Dandelions of course, are dandelions. They grow just about everywhere. I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who didn’t know what one looked like on sight. Even very small children can readily and safely identify this plant. If I had to pick ONE wild plant, it would be this one. It has so many incredible uses, no toxic lookalikes, and is impossible to misidentify unless you are blind. (No offense to blind people, of course.) 🙂 Apparently the name ‘Dandelion’ is from old French ‘Dente de leon’ teeth of the lion, referring to the shape of the leaves.

Slippery Pine Bolete: Boleyus luteus. (also Suillus luteus) These love to grow symbiotically on the roots of scotch pine. And gee, there just happens to be a big scotch pine tree in my yard that puts out dozens of these delicious (and sometimes huge) delicacies.

There is also a lovely colony of Bay Boletus (Boletus Badius) that likes to grow on the roots of my Hungarian Quince tree, which are also delicious. I just happened to have the Slippery Pine Boletes available so used them in the video.

Here’s the disclaimer: Due to the possibility of a misidentification between edible and poisonous mushrooms, I do not recommend that anyone eat wild mushrooms. AGAIN, DO NOT EAT ANY WILD MUSHROOMS. There. Now… more for me. 😉

Though in all seriousness, if you are in Europe, don’t pick and eat something that looks like something here in North America, as whilst some species have NO toxic lookalikes in North America, they DO have toxic lookalikes the next continent over. Be aware of that, and absolutely do your research.

Oh.. P.S. For the record… there are no deadly toxic boletes. The most that will happen if you get the wrong one is that you’ll wish you were dead. 😉 But for mushrooms, that’s pretty kind. Even plant ‘experts’ soil their panties when it comes to mycology. The key here is to stick to what you know, and where you know it grows, and stick to the safe species that have very few if any toxic lookalikes. For example, I don’t eat ANY white gilled white mushrooms around here, as we have destroying angels that like to grow in the nearby woodland. Knowing that, I don’t even bother to pick things that even remotely look similar to bother identifying them.

If you insist on eating wild mushrooms, find a local expert. And watch what they do. Oh, and make sure they pick it, prepare it, and eat it in front of you. If they’re still alive in a few days, you’re good to go. 😉

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

