What’s for Dinner?

 

I was going through the bottom of my freezer today and made several nice discoveries of things that I’d forgotten were in there.

Well, that’s not entirely accurate. I was pretty sure they were in there SOMEWHERE in that cryochamber of frozen doom. And that somewhere of course, happened to be the very bottom of the freezer. (Go figure, right?)

So, I retrieved some garlic greens, 4 whole large boletus mushrooms, and some asparagus along with 3 frozen beef hamburger patties.

I already had a small pot of rice made ahead of time for this meal. Otherwise making the rice is the first step as it takes 45 mins to an hour depending on the rice ye are using.

First step was to defrost the mushrooms, which I did by putting them in a bowl of cold water for about 15 minutes, then sliced as I normally would once they were no longer frozen. Whilst these were defrosting I finely chopped up the frozen garlic greens.

In a large saucepan, on medium heat, I put some olive oil, and the chopped up frozen garlic greens. Placing the lid on the pan, I let this heat, stirring occasionally for a few minutes, then put the mushrooms in with it. Once they were heated through, I pushed the garlic and mushrooms to the sides of the pan, and tossed in the frozen hamburger patties, then placed the lid on the saucepan. I then seasoned it with salt and cracked black pepper.

After a few minutes, the patties had heated through enough to chop up nicely with my wooden cooking utensil. Once this was cooked completely through, I stirred in the pre-made rice, heated it through, and left it on low temperature to keep it warm

Now, for the asparagus.

In a separate frying pan with a lid, I put a few tablespoons of olive oil, heated it through, then put in the aparagus along with some regular cloves of garlic that I had finely chopped. You could add the garlic later if you like, but I like mine ‘crunchier’. Put the lid on. You’ll have to flip the asparagus a few times, and maybe add a wee bit more olive oil as you go. When they are almost done (which will be to your preference) lightly salt them, and give them another flip.

These will probably be the best darn asparagus you’ve ever eaten, or darn close. Like anything, it’s all in the cooking method. Even my spouse who never ate green veggies of ANY kind before meeting me, loved it, and devoured it in short order.

Well that was dinner. I know the picture doesn’t look like much, and it kind of came out looking like a rice casserole with asparagus on the side, but let me tell you this was a meal fit for a king. It was absolutely delicious. Now if I’d only had a nice merlot to go with it…

Happy eating! 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

