For Lunch Today: Sauteed Wild Greens and Mushrooms over Rice

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve posted something substantial here at Wild Cookery! Since it IS named ‘Wild Cookery!’ I figured that I should probably take some pictures of a simple meal I like to make, even though there is a video that I made quite a while back with some of the same content.

This is quick, easy, and straightforward. (And with colorful new pictures!) 🙂

Let’s just call this ‘Sauteed Wild Greens and Mushrooms over Rice’

Actually it’s sauteed dandelions, plantago, dock, wild garlic, and slippery pine boletus over white rice, but that’s just too darn long and boring sounding. 😛

You can substitute any mushroom you like for the boletus, and add or remove any wild greens you may desire for whatever is in season. The dandelions are pretty much a ‘must have’ for me though, as well as the garlic. The entire dish tastes very different without them, and not in a favorable way. (In my not so humble opinion.)

The ingredients:

Slippery Pine Bolete (Boletus luteus/Suillus luteus)

First, defrost the mushrooms if frozen. These had been in the bottom of the freezer for two years. Waste not want not, right?

They may not look so appetizing right now. But they’ll be delicious when cooked up.

Once it is defrosted, we can then slice it and then chop it up.

Dandelion (Taraxacum officinale) The main greens volume-wise. These will be varying in bitter depending on the time of year you have gathered them, whether they were grown in the sun or the shade, and even what time of day you gathered them. I like to gather in early morning. As you can see, these were pretty darn big. Gather a good fistful.

And to give you an idea of how big some of these are…

Now that’s a dandelion, eh? I find ones this big every week in spring and early summer. There is a special patch I have in the shade of some trees that gets perfectly watered and is in nearly full shade. And this is the result. Yum!

Wild Garlic (Allium canadense) The secondary green, volume-wise. Also adds immense flavor. Who doesn’t love garlic? Also this particular garlic doesn’t leave you with that store bought trademark ‘garlic’ breath. Seriously. It’s great. The more the better!

Native North American Plantain (Plantago) This is the long thin variety that is native to North America, not the shorter ovate variety that is from Europe. (That is Plantago major) But they are both plantagos and taste very similar. I have both in my lawn. I just happen to have more of this one right now. I use a small handful. About half a dozen good sized leaves or so.

Broad Leaf Dock (Rumex obtusifolius) Rich in protein and Vitamin A. Chop up and saute with the other greens. If you are bitter-sensitive don’t use too many. One or two is fine. We like bitter, so I used four.

This is what it all looks like chopped up:

Then saute for a bit…

I also sliced up, or rather ‘cubed’ up, two very small baked potatoes that I had leftover from the other day. Yea, I know the anti-carb police will be screaming on this, but it added a nice flavor and bulk to the dish, as well as minimized waste, which I’m very big on. Waste not want not.

Serve over rice (which I’m assuming you can follow directions on the back of the package for…) And voila!

But *gasp* carbs are… ‘bad’!

Before I started eating greens every day and cutting the trash out of my diet, I was 60 pounds heavier than I am now. And I eat rice nearly every since day. I’m trim, and fit. So I kind of go toe to toe with the ‘carbs are bad’ kind of people. Respectfully, of course. Who am I to say some diet does or does not work for someone else?

All I know is that I can eat as much carbs as I want with zero real detriment. I can also eat loads of real natural fats. I’m in the best shape of my life, and went from a size 40 down to a size 32, slowly and naturally just by changing what I was eating, and with very real exercise other than a little bit of walking and some daily pushups.

But, if you are one of those folks who don’t eat carbs, then this recipe is most likely NOT for you, as the main ingredient is a bed of rice. The purpose here, other than of course to be a filling wholesome meal, is to be BALANCED.

Healthy wild greens paired with a carb is usually a good thing. Add a meat if you like, and you’ve got an even better meal. I didn’t want any meat today, so I made mine without. You can just as easily add any ground or cubed meat to this with outstanding results, and I do so quite frequently.

As I’ve said, a similar dish has been posted before, but I figured that in keeping with the concept of ‘reduce, reuse, recycle’, I got to thinking of what dish I could make this afternoon for as low cost, and as high of a return, as possible. This is what I came up with, which is good, as it’s one of my favorite dishes! 🙂

So, what did this all cost?

The boletus had been in the freezer for two years, and originally came from my yard. (And came out tasting fine by the way, especially once sauteed in the olive oil!) Cost: $0

The greens were freshly gathered from my yard. Cost: $0

The rice came in a one pound bag. Cost: $1

Olive oil” $0.50 (I like to use a decent amount.)

Pinch of ancient sea salt. Cost: $0.25… if even that.

The only out of pocket cost for this dish is the rice, the little bit of olive oil, and the little bit of real ancient sea salt. I figure this entire meal, which fed three people, had an end TOTAL cost of about $1.75. Max. Add another $1.50 or so, and I could have added some kind of ground meat to it. But I didn’t feel like meat today. It would have been even less had I used only a tablespoon of olive oil. But I really like olive oil. And olive oil is expensive. Now, that’s total cost, not per person. And I still have 3 servings of rice left over for later too!

Ye can’t beat that with a stick!

And it was absolutely delicious. Probably the best tasting thing I’ve eaten all month. The wild garlic sauteed up in the olive oil with a little bit of real natural ancient sea salt is just to die for.

Give it a whirl with your local greens and let me know what you think!

All the best!

~Janos at Wild Cookery

Categories: Buying Local, Food Health, Green, Organic, Plant Photos | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “For Lunch Today: Sauteed Wild Greens and Mushrooms over Rice

  1. Nice to meet you! thanks for liking my blog ceciliawyu.wordpress.com. This looks really interesting..Dandelions….unfortunately I’m terrible at cooking so I will have to ask someone (usually some guy keen on proving his post-modern feminist Kudos) to cook this! 🙂

  2. and here I thought I was doing well for feeding a family of 4 for $6.40! Kudos! If you’d like to check out my blog, come on over to fearlessfarmfrau.blogspot.com !

  3. Fuzzy

    I made this on Sunday, with a few modifications (as I’m lacking in forage skills). One of my local grocery stores had dandelion leaves and wild garlic (imagine my surprise). I also added some mustard greens and used organic shitake and oyster ‘shrooms. Instead of potatoes, I used a combination of diced sweet potato, beet and turnip (it IS fall, you know), and served it all over basmati rice. Oh, and I added/chopped up about 6 slices of bacon leftover from breakfast….bacon makes everything better. 😎 Wonderful recipe, and this is going to be a regular with me! Thanks! III to III!

    • Sounds like a culinary winner! 😀

      Bacon indeed makes everything better. I tend to cook seasonally, as that’s what’s available in nature. Unless I’ve been fortunate enough to freeze it beforehand. One of my idiot neighbors obliterated my entire spring greens harvest by ‘helping’ me mow my yard with their big commercial mower when I was away one day. That’s one of the things with ignorant people who think they are ‘helping’ you. They destroyed a freezer’s full worth, literally, of fantastic spring greens, which have totally screwed us for winter. But, we’ll manage. We always do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

