Welfare and the Victim Mentality, (and How it Relates to Foraging)

What does this have to do with Wild Cookery, ye may ask? EVERYTHING.

It’s because I REFUSED to be on the government dole, that I polished off my foraging skills, and really got damn good at it. 4 years later, I’m healthier and better fed than ANY of my neighbors, most of whom are on food stamps, I might add. With slight exception they are overweight and unhealthy and on a vast array of medications. And a lot of it directly stems from the rot they eat.

I was reading a very thought provoking post yesterday from a new blog that I’m following, and my commentary was far too big to post as a comment, so here it is.

There have been a bevy of misperceptions and knee-jerk reactions on the original thread here:

http://www.paratusfamiliablog.com/2012/10/the-shame-of-nation.html

Some of which quite unkind to the author.

No one is spewing ‘typical Christian venom’, and no one is ‘blaming the victim.’

But it does seem that a few folks have a victim mentality.

If one is a victim, then someone else has to be doing something TO you.

So, I ask in all honesty, who is doing something to you? How are you a ‘victim’? How is anyone on food stamps a ‘victim’? What are they a ‘victim’ of? Are they victim of a rotten economy? And if so, and if they are the victim, who is the perpetrator? You could say market trends, or you could even go so far as to say global government. But if government IS the problem, how is more government the solution?

You see, it becomes quite a murky mire when you actually try to look at cause and effect instead of just donning an ‘I’m a victim’ mentality, and thinking the world owes ye something.

I read once that you can’t give offense, only take it. Some folks seem to have taken mighty offense.

Usually that’s a pretty good sign that something has hit pretty close to home.

It also happens when someone feels the need to trot out justifications for themselves or someone close to them.

Typical are β€œIt’s not their fault.” etc.

It’s all about choices. Everyone has a choice. Everyone.

Oft times those choices are there right in front of our eyes, but we simply do not see them. More oft we simply to not have the courage it takes to grasp them. Because doing so would cause a bit of uncomfortableness and/or inconvenience for us.

Let me tell you, when I’m in the line in the store, counting my dollars and change to get my family through the month, and there is the stereotypical fat welfare Queen in front of me, with her half dozen fat kids, and TWO BUGGIES full of food, and here I am with my dozen or so items… yea, it irks me a bit.

But I push beyond it. I don’t envy them the two buggies full of toxic prepackaged crap that masquerades as ‘food’ in this country. There’s a reason she and her kids are so fat, and it’s not from just eating too much. It’s from eating too much of the wrong things. (And it’s also interesting that I never see a father figure with these kinds of folks, but that’s another ball of wax entirely…)

In my buggy you’ll see milk, eggs, brown sugar, flour, real oatmeal, vegetables, fruit, and if it’s a good month, maybe a little yogurt or cheese as a ‘treat’.

I cook 3 meals a day. I also forage additional food when in season from nature, and freeze it to have over the winter when it is not available. I pre-plan meals. MONTHS in advance.

Can most people even conceive that? Do most people even have more than 3-4 days of food in their pantries? Not typically.

Sometimes we need to go through a bit of hardship to get our creative juices flowing.

I like to cut up fresh apples to put in my morning oatmeal. I ran out of fresh apples yesterday, and being the end of the month, I can’t just go to the store and get another bag. I won’t be able to do that until next week. Hard to imagine in our instant-gratification world, but it is what it is. I’m also out of fresh quince. Which I also cube up and put up in my oatmeal, along with fresh pear. The dratted deer and squirrels got most of those. So, I needed to get creative to find something to put in our morning oatmeal. I had some fresh carrots, so I finely shredded some of those and stirred them in.

The result was AMAZING. I mean, seriously good. And I’d never have discovered that, if I hadn’t experienced the ‘hardship’ of running out of fruit, and had been forced to get creative.

These are how breakthroughs are made in course of human history. By people who have gone through hardships and triumphed.

Hardship isn’t a bad thing. It’s not something to be frowned upon. It’s a GIFT, where you can develop your critical thinking and creative skills, and come out of the other side of it a better man or woman.

Think about that the next time anyone thinks they’re a ‘victim’ of anything.

Challenge is something that we need to grow as an individual. It’s what makes us push our own limitations and become something better.

So, which pattern would you rather fall into? The one that sees you growing and accomplishing amazing things that most other people can only dream of? Or would you rather be one of those folks complaining that your food stamps didn’t go up as a cost of living increase this year, and complain about ‘how hard’ it is to survive in this economy?

The choice, as always, is yours.

My family THRIVES on a $40 a month per food budget. Yes, I said MONTH. Chew on that awhile.

Whenever you are truly interested in how to accomplish something like that yourself, let me know.

I’ll be more than happy to teach you, free of charge. It’s funny though… I’ve been offering to teach this to folks for years, and I can count all the people that have been truly interested on one hand. The rest just need something to complain about. They aren’t really interested in moving forward or becoming self-sufficient.

Take your destiny out of the hands of the .gov and some asshole bureaucrats that couldn’t care one whit whether your family is healthy or not.

Be a rebel.Eat the weeds!

Categories: Economy, Food Health, Foraging, Preparedness, Religiosity, Survival, Wild | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Welfare and the Victim Mentality, (and How it Relates to Foraging)

  1. A. Koelln

    Hey, I found your site and the link to citadel on paratusfamilia site and wondered if you lived in Idaho. Our family would love to know more about foraging. We currently have started going to local parks and river bottoms for pecans but really know of no other type of food to get in Texas. Do you have any advice? Thanks.

  2. Hi there! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by. I currently live in PA. But I will be moving to Idaho sometime in 2013.

    First off if ye are interested in foraging, a great place to start is to read this article:

    https://wildcookery.wordpress.com/2012/10/21/real-mint-tea/

    The foraging links are all at the bottom of the article. It’ll keep you good and busy for a good long time. There is an incredible wealth of knowledge there. Also on the forum mentioned there, we have folks in your local area that you can talk to, and who can help you with things that may be specific to your geographic location.

    My more Liberty related blog, which also includes updates on all things Idaho and Citadel related is located here: http://wildlibertyiii.blogspot.com/

    Ye may find a few things there of interest. πŸ™‚

    Thanks again for stopping by, and hope that the above has been of some use.

    All the best!

    ~Janos

  3. Kelly

    I would like to correspond with you on how you feed your family on 40 dollars a month. We are striving towards “self-sufficiency” (i really don’t like that term in the sense that i want to rely fully on God to provide for our needs, but anyway…) My husband and i and our 5 children ages 18 to 1 year live on 3 acres and raise 90 percent of our meat and the other 10 percent comes from wild game (we are hoping to up the wild game this year as we have all learned to shoot now (except the one year old LOL) and we pray that we can fill many deer tags. We have a very large garden and put up quite a bit as well. However, we would LOVE to learn wild foraging, we have read but just have never been “brave” enough to do it. I found your blog through the paratus familia blog comments. I look forward to searching through your site.

    • Hiya Kelly! πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by. Please read the comment above I made to A. Koelln, and see the links I provided in the other comment. It is as good a place as any to start.

      It’s fantastic to hear what you are doing in regards to your meat, gardening, and storing up food for the season. People like you prove that it can be done by nearly everyone. With all that under your belt, adding a bit of foraging to your skillset will be easy as pie. (I love pie. Never met a pie I didn’t like!) πŸ˜‰

      For some ideas on how to start incorporating some basic ‘wild’ foods into your meals, you can see my ‘Videos’ section tab on my main blog. Also, if you have any specific questions, you can contact me at anytime at Wildcookery@yahoo.com I usually check email a few times a day, and I try to get back to folks as soon as humanly possible.

      Thanks again for visiting, and I hope you’ll find something of use at the links above, and here on my blog.

      All the best!

      ~Janos

Leave a Reply

