No Electricity = No ‘Foostamcaad’

Something I just read:

Without Electricity, New Yorkers on Food Stamps Can’t Pay for Food

DOH!

http://colorlines.com/archives/2012/11/without_electricity_new_yorkers_on_food_stamps_cant_pay_for_food.html

I’ve got two responses for this.

  1. To the elderly, disabled, and other people in NY, NJ and other affected areas who have absolutely no other way to get food because of said age or disability, you have my deepest sympathy for the situation you are in right now.
  2. To those that are milking the system for everything it’s worth and have been on generational welfare since birth, who can’t even feed themselves for three days because they didn’t heed the warning to prepare and are the oxygen thieves of our nation… to quote the late, great, George Carlin…

George Carlin

And to quote Trent Reznor. “How does it feeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeel?”

Boy, I bet those folks wish right now that they knew how to eat the weeds, eh? Anyone who starves to death next to an OCEAN doesn’t deserve to pass their genes on.

FYI: The title of the thread comes from this couple that were in front of my wife and I one day at the grocery store. In front of us in line was the lovely couple who were holding up the line. The woman said, and I quote “Daaaam! I fo’got mah ‘foostamcaad’.” Her significant other had to trot their happy arse to their vehicle, and bring back said ‘foostamcaad’. They also got the max amount of ‘cash back’.

And there we were counting our dollars and change to make sure we’d have enough for a bag of flour and a few veggies. Oh well. Such is life when you don’t suckle the teat of tyranny.

I hope all those zombies in NY that were too dumb to prepare BEFORE the hurricane hit are enjoying their electronic ‘foostamcaads’ now that the power is out…

But are they learning anything from this? No. They’re demanding the govt save them.

So who’s taking bets? I’m guessing there will be riots by the 7th., if not much sooner, unless the power is magically restored.

Categories: Economy, Food Storage, Government, Preparedness, Social Unrest, Survival, Updates, US News, Weather | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “No Electricity = No ‘Foostamcaad’

  1. Brittany

    I told my husband that it would soon be chaos there because so many people refuse to just take care of themselves. A good way to do that would have been to prepare for this storm. It does not surprise me that they live next to the OCEAN but it does not dawn on them to get food from it. That is the sad state of dependency of so many people. They don’t think it is important to know about food and how to get it. The goverment will rescue them…right… don’t they remember Katrina.

  2. Teresa Sue

    I have no sympathy for them. In fact, that would probably be an understatement. When the govt collapses beneath the weight of it’s debt, the fsa are going to be very dangerous.

    • Aye my friend. Stupid is as stupid does. Ignorance is curable, stupid is forever. And most of these people may be ignorant, but they’re also stupid beyond compare. The best thing they can do for humanity is reap the whirlwind of their own foolish actions.

  3. I’ve missed you! Glad you’re back. I have my own opinions on the subject, but ny mama always told me if I didn’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything. (Too bad it wasn’t: If you don’t have anything nice to say, say it sarcastically!)

    A while back I pinged you on my mushroom post. I really missed your input and wondered where you run’d off to.

    • Hi Shannon! We’ve been busy little bees the past few months. There’s the old saying of ‘You can teach or you can do’, and we were busy ‘doing’. 😉

      Foraging is a way for life for us, and we have to be very vigilant if we want to store up a ready supply of greens, mushrooms, and fruit for the winter months. Nothing is growing outside in any appreciable quantity when there’s a few feet of snow on the ground. (And it’s darn hard to get to if it is!) 😛

      But since winter is clocking in, I’ll be online more and huddled around my digital campfire. 😀

  4. Enjoyed your account of happenings in the grocery line. I too feel for the elderly and truly infirm but the other class…what can I say that hasn’t been said!

  5. revjen45

    The one that really cracked me up was the Borough Gauleiter who whined about the Red Cross not providing for the denizens of the shelter who didn’t have shoes and/or socks. Who is stupid enough to bug out barefooted? They deserve to be uncomfortable. Such egregious stupidity SHOULD hurt! Sandy is just a rehearsal for a serious situation that will last a lot longer than a few days or a week. Maybe some people woke up, but most will go back watching Honey Boo Boo as soon as the power is back on. They should visit a plastic surgeon who can re-position their eyes to the sides of their heads, where they are located on prey animals.

    • You know, until a few days ago I had no idea who or what ‘Honey Boo Boo’ even was. I had to look it up. Shows ye how much I keep track of the latest ‘trendy’ garbage.

      But there is a Nor’easter coming down soon, over the 6th, 7th, and 8th most likely. We are going to get snow here, and NY and NJ are going to get 40 to 45mph winds and rain. Double whammy time.

Leave a Reply

