Thanksgiving Dinner 2012

I decided to make a big ‘ol chicken instead of the 12.5 pound turkey. I’ll save that sucker for Christmas! πŸ˜€

So, I roasted the chicken for about an hour and 45 minutes, and halfway through, I put some olive oil on the skin, which kept it from burning, and made it nice and crispy. Yum!

I also made from scratch mashed potatoes with the skins on them, which in my not so humble opinion, is the ONLY way to mash, along with home made stuffing from home made bread.

I didn’t do the Hungarian parsley thing. I didn’t have any fresh parsley, and I was strangely out of dried parsley. For the life of me I can’t imagine where my dried parsley went, because I certainly don’t remember using it all. Oh well, chalk it up to gremlins.

So, I went for the next best thing in the stuffing world. Sage, rosemary and thyme stuffing! I cut my real, fresh, home made bread into thin slices, stuck it in the oven until it was dried and crouton-like, and then cut it into squares. I then mixed it with salt, cracked black pepper, the herbs, and 1/2 a stick of butter melted butter. Then squished it all together with my hands, put it into a glass baking dish covered with aluminum foil, and set it aside. I put it in the oven for the last 45 minutes of the turkey, so that it would all be done at the same time, along with the mashed potatoes. For ‘gravy’ I just used dripping straight from the chicken roaster. It’s just as delicious, if a bit thin.

Then, to round it off, I opened up a can of peas and green beans. Yea, I know. I’m not big on canned stuff, but I bought these just for the occasion.

It was all delicious, but my wife agrees that the winner was the stuffing. It was hands down the best I’d ever made, and we’re both big fans of rosemary.

So, here’s a pic of what dinner looked like. Nothing fancy, just good food.

Categories: Baked Goods, Food Health, Holiday, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Thanksgiving Dinner 2012

  1. Teresa Sue

    Sounds yummy, although I’m a certified corn bread dressing lover. πŸ˜‰
    Oh, I’ll tell you where the parsley went….the Damn Yankees….just ask Brock if you don’t believe me, πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

