Very Inspiring Blogger Award

InkPaperPen http://inkpaperpen.wordpress.com/ was kind enough to nominate this blog for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

very-inspiring-blogger
Thank You! That was very kind. And what great timing! πŸ˜€

However, as the saying goes, the devil is in the details.

I very much appreciate the nomination, but I don’t think I’m going to go beyond that in the process. I’m not exactly one for following made up so called ‘rules’, especially when it includes very obvious data-mining. Not that this was the intention of the nice folks who nominate other folks. But it is what it is. It asks you for 7 personal things about yourself, in order to follow the ‘rules’ of the award, and then it asks you to nominate 15 other people to do the exact same thing.

I don’t have 15 other blogs that I follow, which I think are ‘very inspiring’, and if I did, I would just send them a little ‘thank you’ note, and not because I ‘have’ to nominate them for an award in order to ‘claim’ my own.

I mean really… what logical sense does that make? In order to claim an award you’ve got to nominate a dozen plus three other people for the same award?

That doesn’t sound like merit to me, more like a bunch of back slapping and circle jerking.

Have you ever gotten those emails that ask you a dozen things about yourself and then to forward it on to all your friends and have THEM answer the questions and then forward it on to all of THEIR friends so everyone gets to ‘know each other’ a little bit more? It’s all bollocks folks. It’s out and out datamining, pure and simple. Except for the fact that you are doing all the work for the folks who are datamining. It also conditions you that it’s OK to give out personal information to complete random strangers, as that’s who’s going to eventually be reading your personal information a few chains down the line. But all of this is perfectly normal for the Facebook and Myspace generation who thinks it’s completely normal to update total strangers on what you are doing every moment of every day, including tweeting when you are going to the can! πŸ˜›

As they said in the ’90s. “Homey don’t play dat.”

But let me clarify. I do think the intent of the individual who nominated me was pure, and thus I feel honored that this blog was considered to be ‘very inspiring’ in some way.

I do hope that in the past year, I’ve inspired and enabled a few people to realize that they have choices when it comes to their food and that they don’t have to be dependent upon a commercialized and oft nutrient deprived food system for nourishment for themselves and their families.

So, to wrap this up, I’m thankful and honored for the nomination of the ‘Very Inspring Blogger’ award but due to the reasons stated above, and my refusal to propagate data mining on other innocent bloggers, I’ll have to decline.

no-very-inspiring-blogger
But just for the fun of it here are seven facts about myself, which are probably already public knowledge, as I’ve been on the net a long darn time.

1.) I run a blog called Wild Cookery!
2.) Green Deane Jordan runs my favorite foraging site, forum, and Youtube channel.
3.) I get most of my food from nature and not the supermarket. I forage in the spring and summer and fall, and store foragables for use over the winter. I only buy oatmeal and rice and potatoes commercially.
4.) I love dandelions. They are the perfect foraging food in that all parts of the plant from the flowers to the root are edible year round. Remember this, it may save your life.
5.) It’s snowing here today. Again. I’m beyond sick and tired of snow. And the nigh-endless cold. FUCK WINTER!!!!!! (How’s that for honest?)
6.) Due to a very warm week in January, my Blue Flag Irises started to shoot up about six inches and are now getting frozen from all the cold and snow. Not cool. Not cool at all. (Pun not intended.)
7.) I loathe datamining and all other privacy invasion attempts such as Facebook, Myspace, Twitter, etc. Along with all of the fake bloggy ‘awards’ out there that seek to datamine you and dozens of your friends just so you can display their shiny little ‘award’ that you probably didn’t even earn. You were nominated so THEY could claim THEIR award. Otherwise, they’d probably not even bothered to send you so much as a ‘thank you’ for your efforts.

Sorry, not trying to be snarky here, and I don’t want it to seem like I’m shazzing on wonderful people’s good intentions. I just REALLY don’t like datamining. It’s a total invasion of privacy, and it’s a tool to train you to happily give your rights and privacy away to total strangers. But I’ve found from years of internettting, that what they can’t take from someone at a point of a gun, they’ll gladly give away for a shiny little digital ‘award’. People just love their little digital ‘achievements’.

Ding! Level up! πŸ˜›

Categories: Awards, Web | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. 100% agreement with your sentiments re-awards! Tracey

  2. I was thinking the EXACT same thing! When I got the same message at http://www.steadyflowblog.com from a follower, but didn’t see how on a few-month timeline the pool of inspiration wouldn’t get diluted…

    Good call.

    • Sometimes the most interesting of people find my blog. Which is pretty cool, considering I do zilch for promotion and advertising. Thanks for stopping by, friend. I’ll be sure to check out your blog space! πŸ˜€

  3. Pingback: Most Inspiring Blogger Award | Steady Flow

Leave a Reply

