Finding Arsenic in My Chicken Leaves Me Clucked Off!

Ok, I’m on day two of my path to eating more Primal/Paleo.

So the first thing I look at is how to cut OUT the carbs, and how to put IN more meat.

This means wiping out some of the rice and potatoes that usually make up the bulk of my main meal, and putting in more animal fats and good oils, such as olive and coconut oil.

I’m on a severely restricted budget with zero wiggle room, so whatever I do will have to be an almost straight replacement dollar wise, carbs for meat/fat/oil.

Well, the obvious choice seems to be chicken. It’s fairly inexpensive, compared to anything else available, and growth hormones aren’t allowed in chicken. So far so good, right?

One would think so. Except that I read again the other day that conventional farms are intentionally feeding chickens toxic levels of arsenic in order to bulk them up and make them ready for sale faster. Oh yum!

Apparently this isn’t just a few farms, but rather standard practice. And it’s not only allowed, but totally rubber-stamped by the FDA! And these people are supposed to be making our food ‘safe’?

http://www.naturalnews.com/040556_arsenic_chicken_feed_contamination.html

To wit:

“Upon analysis, the team discovered that the conventional chicken meat samples had the highest levels of inorganic arsenic overall, containing up to four times as much arsenic as the organic chicken samples. These same conventional chicken meat samples contained up to three times more arsenic than the maximum levels proposed, but later retracted, as a safety standard by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) back in 2011. (emphasis mine)

“The levels of inorganic arsenic discovered in chicken are cause for concern, especially since many of us are already exposed to the carcinogen through additional dietary and environmental paths,” writes Hunt. “But unlike these other sources of exposure, which typically result from natural arsenic deposits, industry or residual contamination from the days of widespread arsenical pesticide use, as noted in the study, ‘arsenical poultry drugs are deliberately administered to animals intended for human consumption.'”

This has me very, very clucked off.

There is now no affordable commercial source of meat. Even if beef were available and in the budget range for regular consumption (and it’s not), most standard beef is toxic filth, due to how it’s raised, fed, and slaughtered. (GMO corn diet, and fecal contamination, anyone?)

So my real concern here is that by increasing my meat consumption, I’m going to be adding a whole boatload of arsenic into my diet. Whereas I typically eat chicken once or twice a month, and it’s probably not a big deal at those levels, eating it ever day or every other day is another story entirely.

So how in the hell am I supposed to add more meat into my diet without poisoning myself?!

We’re not. And that’s the point entirely.

This leaves me (and everyone else), with very few viable options. It’s either eat the toxins and smile, or find a plan B.

Looks like it’s time to look up my local asinine ‘laws’ on keeping and raising bunnies for personal use.

P.S. Where do the rest of you cavemen get your meat from, and how the heck do you afford it?

Categories: Animals, Food Health, Government, Organic Meat, Preparedness | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Finding Arsenic in My Chicken Leaves Me Clucked Off!

  1. One answer is to find a local chicken producer. While the cost will NOT be as ridiculously ow as what you are used to seeing in the grocery store, you can get to know their practices and understand that the meat you will be eating is free of those additives. http://www.localharvest.org/
    The arsenic in the feed has been the practice since the 1940s. I checked with the chicken producers for The Wild Ramp to make sure any supplemental feed they use does not contain it. You need to ask.

    • We don’t exactly have local farms here. The only ones I’ve found sell beef (out of my price range, as their prices are plain out ridiculous and cater to the hoity-toity of this town, Drs and the like…), and only ONE that has chickens on a very limited basis, and they also charge about 30% more than the store does. This doesn’t exactly meet my budget needs. Also, there are so few farms here because they have to compete with the Amish. People have this mistaken impression that the Amish are growing their food naturally and wholesomely, so that does the selling for them.

      The Amish around here have figured out that they can charge MORE than the local stores for their produce, and people will pay it. If a head of cabbage is $70 cents a pound at the store, the Amish will charge you twice as much for the same thing. We have Amish only a few roads away from us, and in the spring and summer, I’ll sometimes ride by the farms and get to see how they do things. I think it’s a very large misconception that they don’t use conventional fertilizer and such. Because they do. I’ve also seen them hand spraying with pesticides. Then people buy this in town at the local Amish stand and think that they’re getting home grown ‘organic’ produce. But I did notice that they never come out and SAY that the produce is organic, or label it as such. They just let you assume so. And if you ask about it they get really quiet, and feign being either offended, or not knowing what you’re talking about. I was talking to one fellow once and he claimed to not speak very good English. So I switched to German, and he about shat himself. I asked him if his produce was grown without chemical fertilizers or pesticides, and he finally admitted, no, they weren’t.

      All is never as it seems on the surface, dear friends.

  2. This cavegirl gets protein from turnip, collard, beet, dandelion, broccoli, and other tasty field greens and veggies. Grains and legumes also carry a fair amount and then there’s the fabulous soy bean — and I’m not talking about the American ramped up variety that’s fed to livestock. If it’s processed carbs you’re wanting to ditch, while maximizing protein input and calories from oils, look to the plant world.

    I for one haven’t missed the plumped-up, arsenic-laced chicken. Neither has my 50-something husband — who deadlifts 400+ lbs, I might add, and is in better shape than many 20-somethings — on the same 100% plant-based diet who will argue (after resisting for 15 years) that he’s never felt better. His chronic lifetime moderately high cholesterol is now down where mine is.

    Wildramp above’s link to LocalHarvest.org is a very good one to start. If you absolutely can’t live without your corpses, there are plenty of farms who raise their own birds for slaughter (some will even sell to you live for you to slaughter yourself) without all the nasty injections. Call around.

    • Yes my friend, I’m going Primal/Paleo. Corpses are requisite. And unfermented soy is a vile toxin. I wouldn’t feed that to my worst enemy, much less people I like! 😀

      • You are too right. Fermented soy ONLY for my family. Which is why I do it all at home — I can assure it’s been handled to my liking. That, and I reduce the container trash (of tofu, soymilk, etc.) that comes from grocery versions, just as vile in my eye.

        I buy GMO soy beans in bulk for $1.99/lb. It’s a bargain and easily stored in the long term. Soooo much that can be done with that beautiful bean. Even the most fantastic HEALTHY brownies — also kid approved.

      • Spiffy. It sounds like ye have it well in hand. Though did you mean non-GMO soy, or are you really and intentionally buying the GMO stuff? Just curious.

      • LOL No definitely non-GMO. Not that I think they’re evil or anything, but more that I’m in the “I don’t know enough” category. There’s not a significant price difference either, so why not?

        But to be sure, we eat soy as a supplement to our greens diet, not the other way around. Greens (a/k/a/ leaves, stems, flowers) are our staple. All that we need, nothing we don’t. Going “green” surprised both my husband and me, as well as our doctors and friends.

        I was showing my kids the butterfly stroke yesterday. Hadn’t done it in more than 25 years. A little sore today in the shoulders and hips, but this old gal’s still got it!!

      • Here’s a post I did a while back on the soy bean. It just happens to be my only “food” post! I don’t have much time for camera AND kitchen at the same time. Here’s it’s mostly “kitchen.” LOL http://wp.me/p28k6D-RP

  3. Here’s a post on Polyface Farms. If you’ve not read about Salatin’s way of pasturing poults, it’s ingenious. He’s written a few books. http://milkwood.net/2013/06/04/3-days-at-polyface-farm/

Leave a Reply

